jump to navigation

Twitter June 13, 2010

Posted by roxieroo8125 in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have been on Twitter for a while now, less than a year, and yet, I still haven’t found out what it’s purpose is.  You post a 140 character “tweet” and people follow you so they can read yours.  On Facebook, I can do basically the same thing, just without the character limit.  After this short period of time, I feel like it might be time to get rid of my Twitter.  Here’s why:

1. It just encourages me to procrastinate.  I don’t need another method; I have plenty already.  Facebook (which I will not get rid of for a variety of reasons), Sporcle (I learn stuff), crochet (it allows me to create), television, blogging (I sometimes get paid for that), and crosswords are my main vices.

2. I feel like a large portion of the tweets I receive, from both friends and strangers, are either very narcissistic OR very negative.  I frankly don’t care what you are doing right now OR how awful it is.

3. I HATE when the people I follow “live-tweet” anything.  The Tony’s were tonight and numerous people I follow “live-tweeted” the event.  First, I didn’t get to watch the Tony’s, so I want to find a way to watch clips tomorrow, so don’t ruin it for me.  Second, I don’t need all that littering up my feed.  Why don’t we all just experience events, synthesize our opinions, then perhaps write them down later in an organized manner on a blog.  Or we can realize that we didn’t have an opinion at all.

4. Some people don’t get Twitter.  At all.  I follow a celebrity, who shall remain nameless, and he/she (or his or her respective staff) re-tweet every single tweet they get directed at them.  It’s weird and sometimes, it will be the only person who comes up on my feed for an hour.

5. I have decided that there is nothing so important that it NEEDS to be tweeted.  If there is a disaster, run for your life.  Do not stop to tweet about it.  If you are getting married or having a baby (like, at this very moment), don’t tweet about it.  You are doing something far more important.  Twitter is there because it allows you to comment on things the minute they happen, but nothing is so important that it needs that immediate comment.

So, I think I am going to get rid of my Twitter.  Stay on Twitter, don’t stay on Twitter.  I really could care less.  I’m not sure why I joined in the first place.

Onward and upward.

PS: How ironic that I blogged about getting rid of Twitter.  Oh internet age.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

